Thank you – and invitation for questions

I would just like to write a quick post to say that I have not abandoned this blog. I’m aware it’s been eight months since I updated, and it seems like the longer I leave it, the harder it is to update. I have so much I’d like to write about, but I have found it hard to find the energy and focus, because my life has been very busy and full of change lately.

Thank you to all who have left comments. I really appreciate knowing that people have found this blog useful, and  feel surprised and grateful that people are still reading this blog when I haven’t updated for so long. This make me feel very motivated me to keep writing. I have several topics in mind to write about at some point, but right now, because I want very much for what I write to be relevant and helpful to those reading, I would also like to invite readers to ask any questions you want to ask, or suggest any topic within Aspergers you want me to write about. I’ve not done this before, so I’m not sure exactly how it would work, but, depending on the response, I might write an entry where I post people’s questions and try to answer them, or devote an entry to a topic that someone wants me to write about.

13 Comments

  1. Thank you for updating and letting us know that you are well. I continue to subscribe, and wait for any new entries as your Asperger blog is the one to which I best relate, and which is my favorite. Thanks.

  2. Excellent idea!

    And I am happy that you have decided to revive your blog. I find it very helpful, because what you write often accurately describes aspects of life that I struggle with in ways that make it easier for me to organise and handle them in my mind. For example your description of social interaction in ‘https://aspectsofaspergers.wordpress.com/2010/08/08/overloaded-what-it-feels-like/’ (and many other posts).

    My questions are about work. I know that you’re currently in college, but my questions relate to both the work you’ve been doing before that, and the work that you imagine yourself pursuing in the future.

    1. How has Asperger’s affected your choices of jobs previously (before diagnosis)?

    2. How has it affected you in the workplaces – have you experienced bullying or ostracism at work?

    3. What are you career expectations for after you finish college?

    4. Does having Asperger’s narrow down your perceived career options within your field of interest. E.g.: which jobs that you would like to do, do you rule out due to anticipated ASD-related problems with the environment where it is typically undertaken (for example)… although you feel motivated and competent to do the actual work?

  3. You write so lucidly about what it’s like to be different. Atypical, for lack of a better word. Are there ways being different has been advantageous for you? Things you like about it, are glad of?

  4. Hi! I found your blog last July and read all the topics in 2 days. I thanked you for it back then, and ever since I’ve been waiting for new topics. So I’d like to encourage you to write. I have a question, or I would rather say that I’m really interested in something that you mentioned, that you have several kinds of food intolerances. Actually I have, too, very seriously. Often I can’t sleep because of the toxins crated by my malabsorption, so I’m on a very-very strict diet and must be really careful. I’m not diagnosed as an Aspie but probably I am. Here, in Hungary doctors started to know and recognize it in the last decade and in the cases of small kids who are unable to properly socialize in nursery school. I don’t think I could be diagnosed and I can’t see why it would be good for me, so I avoide that kind of doctors. But I often had to visit the gastroenterologist in the last 6 years.

    I’m really interested in your food intolerances: what kinds they are, when and how they occured, whether you have some medicines that help, etc. And I’m interested if you can tell something about it in general, because I didn’t find any detailes, I just heard somewhere that malabsorption is a symptom of Asperger’s.

    Well, if you have time and energy to write, I would appreciate to read about it.
    Thank you!
    Noemi

  5. A couple of things I’ve been curious about that you’ve mentioned:

    1) You’ve talked about support services (social, or institutional only (i.e., at university)?)…and I wondered what country you live in?

    I haven’t heard of the kind of support for ASDs that you describe, here in the U.S. – but it could be that I’m ignorant of them since I’m not on the spectrum….

    But for your country, how does one go about getting such support services? Like, to whom or what agency do you appeal?

    2) I thought I read once that you said something about not having much relationship experience from which to write about the AS perspective…is that correct, or am I getting you confused with someone else?

    Anyway, I would love it if you had any relationship experiences or perspective & advice to turn your massive brain upon. *grin* Because you do so very well at describing things articulately, and the AS relationship perspective is one I’d really love to read from you. (I’m in a relationship with an Aspie right now.)

  6. I’d love to hear how having Aspergers has affected your job, either positively or negatively. I am a speech-language pathologist and I want my students, (thinking especially about those in high school) to have the best opportunities once they graduate. Thanks!

  7. Do you have difficulty uncovering other peoples’ character traits and personalities? Do you figure out others’ traits and personalities through analyzing afterwards? In what ways might this make it even more difficult to make friends? Is this somehow related to difficulty uncovering others’ intentions?

    I would be very interested in hearing what you have to say about “stimming” – repetitive, stereotyped behaviours… physical (hands, rocking, etc), also verbal (ie repeating nonsense sounds, throat clearing). Why might someone do these, and how does it feel?

    I’d like to hear what you have to say about tenseness in the body… ie feeling tense or a strange feeling in your body when you are stressed, anxious, overwhelmed, etc. What do you do to calm your body down?

    Thank you!!

  8. I’d love to hear what you have to say about plans changing and last minute/spontaneous plans. This would also have to do with rigidity and flexibility, and the importance of having and sticking to a schedule. Why is having a schedule so important? What makes last minute and spontaneous plans, and being flexible, so difficult? What are some strategies do deal with this?
    Thank you very much!

  9. I am a teacher, and a couple of years ago I had a student who was diagnosed with Asperger’s. He had a very difficult time in our ordinary classroom, and I feel that I failed to help him succeed because I did not know enough about Asperger’s at the time. He had a very hard time remembering to raise his hand to speak and was often sent to the principal’s office by his other teachers for blurting out in class too many times. He finally asked his mom one day if he was just a bad boy, which broke my heart. One day a student pulled a fire alarm as a prank and someone told the principal they saw him do it, but he was with me the whole time. I realized then that the other kids saw him as naughty, too, and it grieved me to see that they misunderstood him. You have shared memories from your school days of how confusing things were and how it would have been easier if teachers more explicitly explained things, and more recently about how fluorescent lights bother you, but I am wondering if you have any ideas about what else could have helped you in school. What could your teachers have done to make things less confusing and overwhelming? If I ever have a students with Asperger’s again, I want to be able to help him or her be more successful!

    P.S. I really liked your blog about the good aspects of having Asperger’s. I have never heard anyone talk about the positive differences, and I find it really relieving, in a way, to know that Asperger’s is more than just struggles. It encourages me to know that it enhances some aspects of your life even if it makes some harder. It helps me not to pity my student, but rather just to have patience when things are harder.

  10. When I first discovered I had Asperger’s, two years ago at age 50, I combed the internet to find out everything I could about it. As I read things by my fellow Aspies, it was like for the first time in my life, I found people out there whose inner world of perception was just like mine, as well as the difficulties our “differentness” has continually engendered in life. It was like I was born on a foreign planet, and after wandering around earth for 50 years feeling like a total alien, I discovered there were others of my species here. Out of everything I came across and voraciously read on the internet about autism and Asperger’s, your blog has been the most absolutely delightful to my heart. It is like a mouth full of fresh snow! Your ability to put words and images on my own life experiences (details slightly different but our ways of trying to make sense out of it all — identical!) have just been a huge blessing to me, and enormously useful. I want to encourage you, as others have, to keep writing as the inspiration comes. Your gift has been a very great help to me, and I’m sure to many others. Many thanks for taking the time and energy to share it.

Leave a Reply

