An introduction of sorts

One thing I liked about The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time was the font. It was incredibly easy to read, being sans serif, as opposed to the serifed font used in the vast majority of books.

Fonts on a screen have different effects, and the general consensus is that serifed fonts are easier to read on paper and sans serif fonts are easier to read on a screen. However, I find sans serif easier to read on both paper and the screen.

A few years ago I decided to google about the font in The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time, to see how other people had reacted to it. I came across an interesting Guardian article (click here to read it), which talks about the font, and how the simplicity of a sans serif font makes it uncomfortable to read, in the same way as being inside the nuance-free mind of an autistic narrator is uncomfortable and unsettling. So the font, according the author of the article, works as a stylistic device to mirror the discomfort created by being thrust into an autistic mind.

I found this quite intriguing, as I had found the experience of reading the book remarkably comfortable – both the physical aspect of the font, and the cognitive aspect of being inside the head of an autistic character. But then, I’m on the autistic spectrum, so I guess I would.

This blog entry isn’t really about font, nor about The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time. It’s about my wondering quite how to approach the project of writing a blog about Asperger Syndrome.

Do I take you for a ride inside my mind, with all the odd twists and turns it takes? How uncomfortable would that be? Would it alienate readers who are not on the autistic spectrum? Or do I try to translate myself into language that is easy for people who are not on the spectrum to identify with? And how possible is that? And to what extent do autistic minds and non-autistic minds really differ anyway, compared with how much we have in common? Was The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time really such an uncomfortable experience for people to read, or was it more that the author of the Guardian article was coming up with clever parallels?

I am wondering aloud – or rather in text – because I don’t have answers for these questions. I am eager to start my blog, and am aware that starting a blog involves an introduction. A nice organised introduction, explaining exactly what my blog is about and what it will cover and all that. Except I’m not organised, and I while I have in my mind clear snippets of details of this blog, the overall picture eludes me. So instead I share my questions. Life is more about questions than answers to me. Questions are more interesting, because they always create more questions.

Anyway, welcome to my Aspergers blog. Any ideas and suggestions are welcome, because I would like this blog to be useful for both people who are on the autistic spectrum and those who aren’t.

6 Comments

  1. Yes! Yes…..take us on all the twists and turns! I would LOVE an insight into the aspergers mind!
    I say….be yourself- write whatever and however it comes out. ! I know several of my readers who have children on the spectrum would be fascinated to read it as well ๐Ÿ™‚
    Wonderful first post. You brought up things that would never occur to me. Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. This is YOUR blog to do with as you wish. There will be days you want to write about how your thoughts work and days you want to write about scientific findings. I don’t think you can concern yourself with thoughts of others being uncomfortable. Speak freely!

  3. I have to say, I don’t think you should have to translate yourself to make it easier for the readers, unless that’s what you’d feel comfortable doing.
    I agree with Jenny, though — “speak freely”!

  4. Thanks so much for sharing your insights and strategies. My son has AS and I often have problems understanding his motivations/reactions etc and he hates self-reflection and gets very stressed trying to explain his feelings/responses so your blog is really helpful. I especially liked your entry about the English teacher and tidying your house. My son is constantly in both situations and we usually have to ‘guess’ the reasons for his behaviour so it’s great to have your insights. Please keep on blogging!

  5. This blog has helped our family so much already. I have a 10 year old nephew who lives with us on and off. I think he has aspergers. He seems to have all the “Traits” of aspergers my husband thinks he needs to be diagnosed by a professional so that this “label” sticks but I know him because I’ve raised him sice he was 17 months old and I know what his problems are. And thanks to you and other bloggers, I now low how I can help him. I’m homeschooling him and that has helped him 100 percent. He has issues with light and being in stores. Maybe I can get him some glasses that will help him help with the fluorescent lighting.
    Thanks for writing this blog.
    I have been reading it daily ever since I came across it.
    Regina
    Anchorage, Alaska

Leave a Reply

